Application: Ashton-Nixon scholarship

2023 Scholarships (for study in semester 1)

Applications for 2023 have opened and will close on February 3, 2023. The scholarship provides a tuition fee reduction of $30,000 pa for the 2-year MBA. The awarding of the scholarship will depend on the number and quality of applications received and is at the discretion of university representatives and the Ashton NixonBequest Advisory committee, comprising family members and industry experts. The scholarship is awarded based on academic and professionalachievement and is aimed at candidates with diverse educational backgrounds and industry experiences, whether in the private, for-purpose or public sectors.

Recipients will demonstrate in their application and at interview commitment, capability and contribution to leadership in their organisations and their communities, and a willingness to contribute back to the Monash MBA during and after their MBA studies.

Applicants for the Ashton Nixon Scholarship must submit an application statement labelled ‘Ashton Nixon Scholarship’. The application statement must be addressed to  and address the selection criteria in not more than 500 words.

Monash University will shortlist applicants for consideration by the Ashton Nixon Bequest Advisory Committee.

Applications for 2023 funding are currently open and due by February 3, 2023.

Only completed applications received by the due date will be considered. 


To be eligible, you must be:

  • A graduate in architecture from Monash Faculty of Art, Design and Architecture (MADA);
  • A commencing Monash University postgraduate (coursework) student enrolled or intending to enrol in the Monash MBA; and
  • An Australian citizen, New Zealand citizen, holder of an Australian permanent resident visa or holder of a permanent humanitarian visa.

MBA applicants must have accepted their course offer by February 9, 2023

Advisory Committee

The Advisory Committee will select the recipient of the Ashton-Nixon Scholarship.  The Committee will comprise the following people:

  • A/Prof Rosemary Nixon AM, Ms Louisa Ashton, Ms Kate Ashton (family of the late Stephen Ashton AM)
  • Prof Ian McDougall (ARM Architecture)
  • Prof Carey Lyon (Lyons Architecture)
  • Ms Robyn Charlwood (philanthropy consultant)
  • Mr Tom Cameron (financial services consultant)

Conditions of the Award

Generally the successful applicant should commence the program of  study within a year of the award. Any variation in the timeframe should be identified at the time of application.

Generally, the course undertaken should be completed in the minimum time required, unless exceptional circumstances apply, such as serious illness or bereavement.

Successful applicants must submit a final report of 800-1000 words about their experience, within three months of completion of their chosen course. The Advisory Committee of the Ashton-Nixon

Bequest is keen to learn how the scholarship has influenced the practice of the scholarship recipients and intends to establish an informal alumni group. Feedback on the experience of completing the scholarship process is encouraged.